Vice President of India: Qualification, Powers, and Functions

Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu has been elected as the Vice President of India and will assume office on the 11th of August 2017. Naidu will be the 13th Vice President of India and will occupy the second highest office in the country. He will also be the Ex-Officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and his powers will be equivalent to the Speaker of the Rajya Sabha. The article 63 of the Constitution of India provides for the appointment of the Vice President and also makes this position mandatory.

Let’s see the what is the minimum requirement to qualify for the appointment of the President of India;

He should be a Citizen of India

Should have completed 35 years of Age

Should be qualified for the election as a member of the Rajya Sabha

He should not hold any office of Profit.


The Vice President of India will draw the salary of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha which is INR. 1,25,000/- per month.

Powers and Functions

He acts as President when there is a vacancy in the Presidents office which happens due to resignation, removal, death, illness or any other reason. Here, he can act as President for a maximum period of six months.

When the Vice President acts as President then he ceases to be the Ex-Officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha till the time he acts as President. When this happens, the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha acts as Chairman.

Terms of Office (Article 67 of Constitution of India)

Can resign at any time by addressing resignation letter to the President.

Holds office for a term of 5 years.

Can be removed if a resolution is passed in the Rajya Sabha by an absolute majority and agreed by the Lok Sabha.

He can be re-elected or elected any number of times.

Historical Facts

When Dr. Zakir Hussain and Fakr-ud-din Ali Ahmed, died in office, the respective Vice Presidents, V. V. Giri and B. D. Jatti acted as Presidents.

When President Dr. Rajendra Prasad was on a  day tour to the USSR in June 1960 and then again in July 1961 when he was ill, at this time Dr. S. Radhakrishnan discharged the Functions of the President of India in the absence of the President.

Click here to check the Powers of the President of India.