Powers of the President of India

Ram Nath Kovind assumed office as President of India on 25th July 2017 and was a candidate of the BJP led NDA government. He is the second Dalit President after K.R. Narayanan and the 14th President of India.

As President of India, Kovind has the following Powers;

Executive Powers

He Directly administers the Union Territories via the Lt. Governor, the Administrator and the Commissioner.

He can appoint the PM, Chief Justice, Judges of the Supreme Court and High Court, Chairman and members of the Union Public Service Commission, CAG, Attorney General of India, Chief Election Commissioner, and Governors of the State.

Legislative Powers

The President of India can nominate 12 members to the Rajya Sabha.

He can summon and prorogue the sessions of both the houses and can dissolve the Lok Sabha.

Financial Powers

All Money Bills can originate in Parliament only on the recommendation of the President of India.

Judicial Powers

Power to Pardon, Reprieve, Remission, Respite and Commutation.

Military Powers

The President is the Supreme Commander of the Armed and Defence Forces.

He has the power to appoint the Chiefs of Army, Navy and Air Force.

He can declare and conclude peace subject to the Parliaments approval.

How can the President of India get Impeached?

The President of India can be impeached only on the ground of violation of the Constitution of India.

Click here to see the Powers of the Vice-President of India


One thought on “Powers of the President of India”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s